Wardrobe Malfunction

One of my biggest concerns entering college – don’t judge – was what to wear.

My love of fashion is palpable. I’m always on the hunt for style inspiration and ways to put together Vogue interview-worthy outfits on a babysitting budget. I’m vocal about my passion because it’s such a integral part of who I am.

So imagine my surprise when I entered my first dilapidated and downright filthy frat house to find girls in barely-there shorts and either midriff-bearing or neon, bra-exposed tops. Even more out of my comfort zone was the downtown dress code: skin-tight mini dresses and skirts with sky-high heels.

My closet consists of a rainbow of blazers and jeans and structured shorts. Still one of the most overdressed in class, the wardrobe I created in hopes of interning in New York City stands out in a sea of jean shorts and tank tops. But I’m not complaining. I love it and will never change who I am; I just have to marry the worlds of high-fashion and college. [Nina Garcia and Mom, please forgive me for trying on that tight, scarily short black dress at the mall the other day. I had a momentary lapse in judgment.]

I like to think of myself as a man repeller, a term cleverly coined by one of my favorite bloggers. Wearing black Banana Republic shorts with a lime green blazer and carrying a fuchsia faux-ostrich envelope clutch may have only elicited compliments from girls, but the look was me. Many girls here, like my friends, look adorable and appropriate while still fitting into the scene. While there is a secret dress code we’re all trying to adhere to, we know it’s more important to be ourselves. What’s the fun in going out if you don’t love what you’re wearing?

Though, I did give the bra-under-sheer-top trend a try by adding a couture touch à la Carrie Bradshaw and Rebecca Minkoff. With shorts, this could become even more frat house-approved by my standards. Thoughts?

The Look

Top: Sheer gray chiffon with studded collar – Urban Outfitters, Pants: Burgundy (my favorite color!) skinny jeans – BCBG Generation, Demi Bra: Black lace – Urban Outfitters, Shoes: Black suede wedges – Target

 The Inspiration

Rebecca Minkoff’s Spring 2012 collection has it all – neon, bra-exposed tops and hot pants. The look easily transitions into summer. Photo Credit: http://www.fashionologie.com/

The illustrious Carrie Bradshaw, donning a sequin top over a black bra. – Photo Credit: www.fabsugar.com

I was thrilled to find a top somewhat similar to these sheer, sequin-collared blouses from Jason Wu’s Spring 2012 collection. Photo Credit: http://www.fashionologie.com

As for the midriff-bearing tops, I’ll be seeking inspiration from the best of the best – as long as I continue to work out as hard as I have been.

Adorable summer bra tops and high-waisted skirts. From left to right: Proenza Schouler, Dolce & Gabanna, Donna Karan, Nina Ricci, No21, Emilio Pucci – Photo Credit: http://www.fashionologie.com

THESE are the type of crop tops I would wear. From left to right: Preen, Charlotte Ronson, Rebecca Minkoff, Creatures of the Wind – Photo Credit: http://www.fashionologie.com

*Side note: While my descriptions of the frat houses are completely accurate, they’re actually a lot of fun. As long as I’m with my new friends, I’m happy anywhere, no matter how unsanitary.

4 thoughts on “Wardrobe Malfunction

  1. Alyssa I LOVE your blog and your outfit as always! Hopefully I will be seeing you in the city sometime soon! :)

Leave a Reply

